The Seven Days & the Seven Creative Planets

As yogis, our interest lies in surfing energy and in how we can yoke ourselves to greater cosmic tides and catch their waves so that we flow with life, and not against it. If we know the energetic codings of the days of the week, we can tailor our practices and our intentions to synchronise with them.

Yoga at Home

Kundalini Yoga offers an excellent ‘cover-all-bases’ approach to holistic self-maintenance: it also invites a space of deep devotion, stillness & bliss. In essence, yoga is a ritualised way of developing the tone of the vagus nerve & hence the nervous system. To reap the benefits of this it needs to be done daily.

The Dwelling-Place of the Self: The Deep Inner Ocean

The second chakra is the level of consciousness of the creative self; our ability to access the inner creative waters. It is our juiciness in life and our ability to feel. If the first chakra is our groundedness, or contraction on the earth, and our ability to meet our survival needs (or not), then the second chakra is about expansion. The second chakra puts out feelers into the environment and brings back information- ‘how do I feel?’ Water is our emotional identity: our connection to the river of feeling within us.

What are the Three Gunas?

Another good image is the see-saw. Our experiences shift back and forth from one end of the see-saw to the other- the highs and lows. High energy- slump. Slump- high energy. The ideal we strive for is balance- the middle of the see-saw. We call this neutrality in Kundalini Yoga. This is sattva guna.

The Way of The Warrior-Saint: To Love Without Condition

In summary? Clear out the crap in your heart- with compassion- so that the new comes in. Make space for the Great Mystery to enter in. Call it what you will. It’s just waiting for an invite. And It’s house-warming gift? Unconditional Love.